For the safety of everyone, we do not permit pets without leashes or properly restrained on our property.
The front desk receptionist has extra slip leashes for your convenience. If you need a leash please see the desk before getting your pet out of the car. '
If you are carrying your pet please do so till a staff member retrieves them from you for safety. Should you wish, a transport carrier can also be provided to you for additional safety during check in.
Client must give 24 hours’ notice, failure to do so results in a “No Show Fee” (per pet). See interest policy below. This will also apply to any pet who is not up-to-date on vaccinations at the time of the scheduled appointment. ***See our vaccination policy for clarification under requirements**
No Show Fee ___ _______________________ $30.00/pet
Late Fee 5 min grace period then $1.00 per minute after
**If a pet is more than 15 minutes late for his/her appointment, the salon reserves the right to reschedule the appointment and the client will be billed a no-show fee. **
Matting Fee is applied for any knotting is present _____________________________$5.00 and up
Handling Fee is applied when ever additional staff is needed to keep your pet safe $20.00 or more
Coat up charge/ coat premium this is applied if the coat is packed or hand scissoring is required for styling _________________________________________________________________ $10.00 and up
Flee bath is additional $10.00 and is immediately added if we encounter any fleas on your pet.
Tick removal is for 1-5 ticks removed and up if more are present__________________$5.00 and up
The no show fee listed above does not pertain to training sessions. Sessions and classes are paid in advance and non refundable. If your enrolled in a group class environment it is allowed to miss one class as long as notification is given.
Please make sure to research all that the training class entails as we do not give refunds since this is an upfront commitment.
Interest for Balance Due
We expect payment within 29 days of the fee being incurred, so please process any invoice within that grace period. There will be a 10% compounding interest charge per month on late invoices.
All invoices older than one (1) year will be sent to collections.
Per Indiana State Law, no business is obligated to send out invoices after the initial notification of payment due. The initial notification for Pet-Agree is at the time of appointment creation which is verbally given to clients over the phone or in person when an appointment is created. this notification is also on all reminders,printed media and digital media. Per Indiana law, we are in no way responsible for continued notification of amount due. It is the customers responsibility to pay this balance before the grace period of 29 days is up. We recommend clients keep their information current.